The Junk with Water

What’s good everybody? :)

With my Fight dis-ease! blog, I try to go with a certain order or flow of things. I’m not too worried about  the “latest topics” because for every 2 people that know about the latest topics, 100 people don’t know. I also can make a sure bet that even though those 2 people know about the latest health topics, they aren’t applying them to their day to day. >_<

Here at Healthy Junk, we say screw the damn flow of the Feng Shui! We run the grease engine…we run tings, tings no run we! (hh)

So here I am, messing up the plan of Fight dis-ease!…let’s see why:

The name of this topic for today includes water. Now water is NOT junk. Water is one of the most important things to be healthy and to maintain health. Of course, since this is such a serious topic, I’ll let Fight dis-ease! take care of that aspect of things.

Healthy Junk is going to talk about the “junk” that comes with the water: those damned plastic bottles! :x

All plastic bottles that carry your water, even most of the water bottles you put your water in, have something called bisphenol A. Rather than trying to explain what it is in my own words (and besides, I got some “itis” right now) so I’m going to give you some info from this great website I found:

Bisphenol a (BPA), a synthetic estrogen used to harden polycarbonate plastics and epoxy resin, is the focus of a growing number of research studies and legislative actions, reflecting mounting scientific evidence that it causes serious and sometimes irreversible damage to health, even at the low doses to which people are routinely exposed. An estimated 6 billion pounds of BPA are produced globally annually, generating about $6 billion in sales. It is fabricated into thousands of products made of hard, clear polycarbonate plastics and tough epoxy resins, including safety equipment, eyeglasses, computer and cell phone casings, water and beverage bottles and epoxy paint and coatings. But BPA-based plastics break down readily, particularly when heated or washed with strong detergent.

What that really means is that if you sit your Poland Spring water bottle (with the water in it) in the sunlight (come on, if you drive, you more than likely leave your water sitting right in the sun and i’m sure it tastes real nasty when you try to drink it after the bottle sits in the sun for a couple of hours.) the material from the plastic (especially Bisphenol A) will leach into the water and you will drink it down, unknowing of the havoc it can wreak on your body.

If you have fibroids, cysts, or fibro-cystic breasts, you will want to take note because excess estrogen can cause fibroids, cysts, etc. You will want to cut out the estrogen you get in foods as well as cutting out the use of materials like this. For more information on fibroids, click here.

Another thing to worry about with bottled water is the type of plastic it is. When you look at the bottom of most plastics, there is a symbol with a number inside, which kinda looks like this: Recycling Symbol

The number correlates to the type of plastic that is encasing your liquids or foods or whatever is in your house that is made of plastic. This plastic symbol of 1, which is on ALL of your bottled waters, has a benzene ring in it. Basically, that’s bad news.

I’ll get to more about benzene later on in the post, but for now, if you want to learn more about the recycling symbols and what they mean, click here.

Most of these “bottled waters” are just tap water or worse. My friends call Smart Water, “tap water with electrolytes,” for instance. There are no tests to see how pure your bottled water actually is. You’re basically just taking the word of some company that just wants your money.

Tap water in the US is tested and filtered. Tap Water in NYC is one of the best tasting, healthiest and safest waters to drink. OK…so drinking tap water creeps me out too. I only drink it when I have no other water left…but I shouldn’t feel that way. I should be proud to drink tap water, even though the cloudiness that comes for the first 2 minutes upon turning on the faucet will always creep me out. So what are the alternatives? Let’s start with tap water first:

  • Good ol’ fashioned Mamma’s Way

My mom, to this day, will drink only tap water. She is NOT wasting money on “something that should be free anyway” so what she does is that she will fill the water from the tap, boil the water, then freeze the water and put it in the refridgerator.

hey you, (heu)if you want to know how “dirty” your bottled water is, take this simple test:

put your bottled water in the freezer for a day. After a day, take it out. If your bottled water is really dirty, you will see sediment at the bottom of the bottle. Aquafina and Dasani showed the most sediment for me.

This takes a long time to do. Who has patience nowadays? Obviously not you (and I don’t have enough either), or else you’d already be on Healthy St. and not reading this blog. So let’s look to something else. Here’s where the investment will come in…

  • Get yourself a water filter

I’m not talking about that Brita or Pur crap either! Those things don’t work! :@ The filters only work for a month or two and that’s a lot of money to spend in the long term (I don’t know about you but I’m in a recession here…shoo, I’m cheap!). So get a water filter that you KNOW works. One that you don’t have to change the filter for 6 months to a year and it still works (you may have to clean the filter but so what…this is HEALTHY junk and not MESSY junk…clean up after yourself! (lol)) You can check out the best water filters by clicking here. They maybe pricey but in the long run, you will save a lot of $$.

Now I know a lot of you are asking, Drea, if you don’t like tap water, what water do you drink? You got a filter? No. I don’t have a filter….yet. Unfortunately for me, I’m not the 8th adopted child of Brad and Angelina so I have to save like the rest of the nation, until I get my filter. I don’t think the kind of filter I’m going to get is on the list I provided. I don’t remember the name of the filter but they sell it at the IYI Apothecary for $118. I know it’s good for many reasons and if you’re interested in knowing what kind of filter it is and where the IYI Apothecary is so you can get one, send an email to drea@dorightforyourself.org and put “The Junk with Water” in the subject line.

Since I don’t have a water filter, I do buy bottled water. However, it doesn’t stay in that plastic bottle for too long. When things go well, I get my water from Whole Foods. Their 365 brand sells one gallon of spring water for $1.19!! Now for all the NYers reading this, you can thank me now but don’t get mad when I cuss you out cuz you bought the last damn gallon. :'(

There are many one gallon water sizes at Whole Foods. The $1.19 one comes in a better plastic and nicer design. The cloudy plastic in the regular shape is for 89 cents.

Once my gallon of water goes in the fridge, I’m sure you’re wondering where it goes after that. Before, I used to buy water bottles that were “BPA” free (BPA is another term for the Bisphenol A I spoke about earlier). Since the green fanatics that I know (God Bless their dear hearts) scolded me, I have since switched to a stainless steel bottle.

There are various types of bottles you can choose from. The best is a stainless steel bottle. You more than likely have to wash them before use or you’ll get this funky metallic taste. But after that, you’re cool. Good stainless steel water bottle brands are Klean Kanteen and Green Bottle.

The next one is an Aluminum Bottle. Some people complain that even stainless steel can leach onto water (even after washing before use) and that turns them off. I know that all the homebodies are going to say, “oh no Drea. Aluminum is bad…it takes a great deal of energy/resources to mine and it can cause various health issues (linked to neurological disorders and Alzheimer’s for instance). That’s why we don’t use it in our pots and pans.” To that, I say: you’ll be alright. Sigg Bottles are made from Aluminum. However, there is an extra material inside the bottle that prevents leaching, which makes it a great bottle to use for ANY kind of liquid (I wouldn’t put milk in a stainless steel container…I would also be weary of hot tea too…that’s just me though!).

Whole Foods sells this fantastic Hello Kitty Sigg Bottle. Oooh I love Hello Kitty so much (that is my healthy vice…one of them) but those bottles are expensive and I got the Green Bottle cheaper (and the design is pretty too).

Now let’s get back to the recycling symbols for a sec. Did you click on that link? If you did, you’ll realize that many of your plastics contain benzene or chlorine, both are carcinogenic in the body. I want to focus on benzene because of a product in most liquids (especially sodas) called Sodium Benzoate. Now it’s good for killing yeast and fungi in liquids, but did you know that Sodium Benzoate PLUS asorbic acid (aka Vitamin C) forms Benzene? umm hmmm…sure does. Now mind you, Sodium Benzoate by itself is not carcinogenic. Even fruits and spices have sodium benzoate naturally occuring in them.

Here’s what you need to worry about….most drinks, especially sodas, have citric acid and sodium benzoate. If Asorbic Acid with this preservative can cause a benzene ring (or chain….this is chemistry talk, don’t worry about it if you were an English major) why can’t Citric Acid do the same thing? Read this article to make your own decision. Read the last paragraph in the article to give you some insight into making your decision. ;)

Well, that’s the tip for today. I gave you a lot of food for thought. This is why you need to read labels on your food and drink. So sooner than later, I’m going to talk about what is on food labels, how to read them and what to look for that is healthy and just plain ol’ JUNK.

Laters. :D

if you’re gonna eat junk, it might as well be HEALTHY JUNK.

Enhanced by Zemanta