The Healthy Junk Chronicles: My Experiment with Junk I

Instead of going through the poetic prose I may use when writing for Fight dis-ease!, I’m just going to come out and say it: I got laid off of my corporate job recently. My official termination date has not approached as yet but I was still going into survival mode. Going in and out of a “funk,” I got the foods that were cheap and easiest. I got junk.

In New York City, there are many food staples – pizza Pizza and hot dogs Hot Dog are at the top of the list. However, in the “hood,” there is one food that soars above the rest…and it’s one of the worst junk foods known to man – 4 Chicken Wings and French Fries (or some kind of Fried Rice) from any Chinese-American Food Store. Chicken Wings w/French Fries

I made a conscious decision to no longer eat pork at 11 years old. I haven’t eaten hog dogs since (so that’s out)! I do eat pizza but since dairy and I don’t get along like we used to (we’ll talk about that later), I couldn’t eat too much of it.

For 9 months, I haven’t eaten chicken. A month ago, I decided to take a break from seafood (I’ll talk about Elimination Diets on Fight dis-ease! in the future). Since taking that break, I started eating chicken again. Now mind you, seafood is NOT fish but for some reason (or another), I came right back to chicken.

After finding out that I was going to be one of the millions laid off their jobs, I wanted something that was cheap and that will fill me for a long time. I figured that fries are potatoes so I’ll be straight with that. The chinese food store was right around the corner and I didn’t feel like going anywhere unless I had to. So for these past two and a half weeks, I’ve been eating 4 chicken wings and french fries 2 or 3 times a week.

I’ve been eating healthy for a long time. A couple of years, in fact. I consider myself a “flexitarian.” I don’t eat pork and I no longer eat beef . I don’t eat or drink dairy on a regular basis but I do eat fish (which I try to eat organic as much as possible). No matter what I eat, I try to make sure that it’s organic, all natural and grassfed (in the case of goat’s milk).

I felt a little bit heavy after the first week. I had more “funky” episodes. I started having weird thoughts. I didn’t have as much motivation as I needed to have. I dismissed it at first. Then it hit me when I went running two days ago.

I’ve been a runner for a long time. I took a long break from HS to three years ago. My fastest time in running 3.5 miles was 28 minutes and some odd seconds, which was last summer. The first time I ran again since, which was last month, I ran 30 minutes. I was fine with that, considering when I first started running three years ago, I ran the same amount of mileage in 45 minutes.

I ran the other day in 37 minutes and some odd seconds. I was so disappointed in myself and then I realized that this fried junk ran me down! The junk I’m trying to keep you from, I ate and had some negative results. I don’t want the same thing happening to you.

I wrote enough for your already strained eyes. I’m definitely going to expand on this, letting you know what I did to change my habits and how its going. I’m also going to continue with other topics that I want to talk about, including some of the “devils” in food – HFCS and PHVO. You’ll figure out what these acronyms stand for very soon (if you don’t know already).

If you’re gonna eat junk, it might as well be healthy junk! (seriously)

Enhanced by Zemanta