The Healthy Junk Chronicles: My Experiment with Junk II

What’s good everybody?

I hope you’re all enjoying this Earth Day and did your level best to be green…even if it’s only for one day! ;)

provided by allstarlodging.com

provided by allstarlodging.com

I wanted to continue with my experiment with Junk Food and what I have done, so far, to rectify my situation.

disclaimer time!

Everything I am about to discuss from here out, you don’t have to do. You can try it and if you like it, then, go ahead and make it happen. Otherwise, wait for me to get specific and explain certain things before making a decision. It don’t make sense to ride the horse if you don’t know how to ride! ^^

When I got home from running, disgusted with my time and how I felt, I sat down and decided to make some changes. The first change I was going to make was how I was going to budget my money for food. Usually, I’m hungry. I see how much $$ I have. I then go downstairs and buy whatever will last me for the day. Then, I would wake up the next morning hungry and feeling funky.

I needed to buy enough for a week. Refrigerated, Microwave it (we’ll talk about that soon too. I told you I’m a “flexitarian” (lol)) and save it for later…I was all for that. So I went to my stores and bought dried cranberries (in bulk), a bunch of pears, 2 Macro/Vegan Noodle meals (Pad Thai and Udon Noodles), an organic microwaveable meal (yo, Whole Foods got it…don’t sleep!), some chocolate (I can’t wait to talk about this with you but first things first! (siffle)), and my gallon of water.

I still have the microwave meal and some Udon Noodles to spare. I still have my water and I just finished my last pear today. This is now the 3rd or 4th day. I ain’t mad! ;)

The great thing about these Udon/Pad Thai Noodles is that they are already prepared. You can eat them cold or warm and it still tastes good. The best part of it all? They cost about $3.99 each (and if you can find them for cheaper in NYC, let me know. I’ll post pics up very soon). You know how much the water costs (you don’t? Shoo…get ta readin! hehe) and I splurged on the microwave meal and the chocolate. The dried cranberries, sweetened with organic fruit juice? $5.99/pound. I got about $4 worth and I still have a lot to spare!

Basically, for all of this, I paid less than $20. Not bad for organic…

speaking of which…why is it so expensive to go green or organic? (glups)

Yesterday, I decided to go to Whole Foods and get some food to eat. I wanted one thing but it wasn’t there so I got some Garlic Chicken with Saffron Rice and Veggies. I also put some Bok Choy in there (my favorite veggie). I took three bites of the chicken and threw away the food. My head started to hurt and continued to do so until I took a multivitamin/mineral supplement.

You may think this is weird but for me, it’s really not. Ever since I did the Master Cleanser for the first time (around 5 years ago), my body has a funny way of telling my mind that it doesn’t like things. Sometimes, it will comply and let me rock. Sometimes, it will give subtle hints that I should stay away from a food. I think in this case, my body said, “Mind, you said you wasn’t going to eat this thing no more. I don’t care if it’s processed or organic, YOU’RE NOT EATING IT TODAY! :@

For now…my mind is listening. ;)

This is why I’m a flexitarian. Except for a couple of things, I basically eat what I feel like. If my body/mind wants turkey, I’ll get an organic turkey sandwich from Organique in NYC and I’ll be straight. If I want fish, I’ll get it. Chicken? Well, right now, the jury is out on that. ;)

I don’t want to quit chicken because it’s bad for me. Hell naw! If I were to tell you certain facts, you may not want to eat chicken anymore but if it ain’t stopping me, it damn sure won’t stop you. :p I don’t want to eat chicken anymore because I eat it too much. There has to be a better way for me to get my protein. I just have to figure it out and accept it as my new staple.

You know what? I’ma leave you here. In my next post, I’ll explain why I’m not vegetarian/vegan yet. Until then, I’ll holla. :D

If you’re gonna eat junk, it might as well be HEALTHY JUNK.

Enhanced by Zemanta