Now I’ll be honest with you…when I was a kid, I was big into Islam. Being from “the hood,” you had the 5 percenters to deal with. The 5 percenters were an off-shoot of the Nation of Islam. They were heavily involved in numerology to some degree and also did their best to abstain from pork.
So things like chicken wings and pork fried rice, Colt 45 (which was said to have pork in it) and Oreo Cookies (rumored to be made of pork fat at the time) were no no’s. (Let it be known that I was NOT drinking Colt 45 when I was 13…that came after at 19…but later for that! LOL)
Fast forward to today….I found out yesterday that Oreo’s are VEGAN! Say what?! I had to ask two of my vegan/yoga friends about it and they surely did verify.
I am still surprised. Even after seeing this information from PETA. It gives a list of foods (not only snacks…click on the links at the top of the website for more info) that are accidentally vegan but NOT necessarily good for you. Even though these foods are considered vegan by a margin, they are still processed foods and not the best foods to be on if you want to acheive and maintain a healthy lifestyle.
Bottom line, if you want to induldge in one of these foods ONCE IN A WHILE…then feel free. Otherwise, stick to the good stuff – fruits, veggies, quinoa (hehehehe), you know the drill!
My apologies for making you happy for two seconds and then shooting your Oreo hopes down but…that’s what I’m here for. Balance. 😀
Talk to you later and remember…if you’re gonna eat junk, it might as well be Healthy Junk!